• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,311 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing – 50 Reasons To Pray the Rosary

Here we are – the first Monday in October. October is a month in which we focus on Respect for Life issues and a month, similar to May, where we focus on Mary the Mother of God as Our Lady of the Rosary. For me, October is also a reminder of the anniversary of my return to the Roman Catholic church in 1990. This journey was lead by Mary who took me by the hand and guided me with love.

It would not be a stretch to imagine a screaming toddler in the middle of the supermarktand a loving persistent mother who will not let go of her out of control child. That’s Mary who never forced me, but always loved me into a new way of life.  While I was reluctant about going, I somehow stumbled along with Mary. One of my hands held onto hers, the other grasped my Rosary.

There will be more about Mary and the Rosary as we journey through October, but for today, I want to share this video, 50 Reasons to Pray the Rosary, with you. My friend Paul Snatchko (who works for The Magnificat) posted this particular clip on his blog a few years back, in October I believe. It knocked me off my feet and made me a little weepy. It still does. Yes – the words are in Spanish, but there are sub-titles and each person only states one thought… a reason to pray the Rosary.

Some people think that the Rosary is great, some people think it is an archaic piece of old piety, some people don’t think about it at all.  For me, the Rosary is a lifeline and I am able to pray one each day, most of the time.

Whether you pray the Rosary or not, maybe you will take the 3 minutes that it takes to watch this video. Maybe you will just utter a Hail Mary as you, maybe not.

3 Responses

  1. Ah, Fran, this is just what I needed to read today. I saw my Rosary and thought of starting, but did not move to action. You are helping me so much here. Thank you!

  2. This is a great post! Mary is the shortest way to God.

    http://holymarymotherofgod.wordpress.com/

    Thanks!

  3. [...] Not really a song per se, but a song, two songs really – as part of a video about the Rosary. I really like this video and the other May Feelings video that was part of Monday’s post, called 50 Reasons to Pray the Rosary. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,311 other followers

