• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,281 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

I’m late today… For one thing, I worked on Sunday, facilitating a Confirmation retreat with Chris and Beth Carlin, from Living Hope Ministries. I try to work ahead, but sometimes it just does not happen! I also have today off from work, so my need to hit publish and get out the door are also not operative at this time.

There are many thoughts on my mind today. The HHS mandate and how it is tearing so many people apart. As a dedicated church woman, as someone who watches the news closely, and as a dedicated social media ministry person, I have not ever seen anything rip a hole through things like this one. This matter has caused me to have disagreements with people on all sides of the discussion and it is a multi-faceted discussion.  God have mercy on us all, that’s all I can say at the moment.

I am thinking about yesterday’s Gospel from Mark, in which Jesus heals a leper.  It is a reminder of how the leper pushed past his acceptable boundaries to go to Jesus for healing. It is a reminder of how Jesus pushed past acceptable boundaries all the time in order to not only heal, but to unite.

I am thinking about today’s readings which call us to perfection, remind us of strife and also should make us think about “signs” from God.

Another thing on my mind is the 7th anniversary of the death of Notre Dame de Namur sister, Dorothy Stang, which is today. Tromping through the mud in the Brazilian jungle, armed only the Word of Christ, she was shot to death by two armed gunman. Rest in peace and may your memory always be a blessing.

Also on my mind is the essence of social media ministry, which is what we are doing here and how essential that is. My friend and sister in Christ, Meredith Gould will be talking about that all week on dotMagis blog. I call Meredith the Apostle of the Internet and that she is, tirelessly bearing Christ out here and inspiring me and others to carry on. There are always fights going on in blog comments and on Facebook. Please note the HHS mandate and how that has impacted community. It makes me rethink this work, yet I seemingly cannot stop myself. This is my mission field.

As you can see – I am on a bit of a ramble here. It is time to wrap it up.

Ultimately I will say this. Christ is risen and in His risen life we are to find unity.  If there is one way to look at evil, that would be to look at how diabolical evil is… Diabolic, diablo, devil, satan. The divider. Christ unites, Satan divides.

That is the one lens we are called to look through as Catholic Christians. How are we uniting ourselves to others in Christ? In faith, in life, in politics, in church, in social media – in every conceivable place, how do we unite in the name of Christ?

 

One Response

  1. EWTN’s Homily today is excellent, worth recording. Fr. Wade Menezes speaks well on The value of suffering. (I wish he could be a speaker at Spring Enrichment)

    I agree, the HHS debate is far, far, far from over. We need lots of prayer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,281 other followers

