• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,311 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

Every morning, as part of both my prayer and my work, I read the daily readings and reflections at Give Us This Day, and  The Magnificat. I am very blessed to be able to receive a subscription to each one of these daily devotionals currently. The readings for daily mass are the same, but the psalms for morning prayer, as well as the featured saints of the day and reflections are very different. For many reasons, I treasure both publications.

Today the thing that truly hit me came from Give Us This Day. The featured saint of the day, (not always a canonized saint at GOTD) is Bl. John Paul II, our prior pope. These particular words refer to the Gospel of Luke (5:4), and Jesus’ command to “put out into the deep.” In Latin, this is “Duc in altum.” This can be found in the Apostolic Letter, Novo Millenio Ineunte, as we see below.

Duc in altum! These words ring out for us today, and they invite us to remember the past with gratitude, to live the present with enthusiasm and to look forward to the future with confidence: “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and for ever” (Heb 13:8).

This got me to thinking about Saint Kateri, whose canonization we celebrated yesterday, and her journey from the area around Fonda, NY, near her shrine, to Canada. On Saturday I had posted two Kateri videos, and one of them has not left my mind, as I imagine her making her way, all alone, through the wildnerness.

How often do we really follow Jesus’ command to do this – Duc in altum? How often do we recall that Bl. John Paul II, and countless others in between, asked the same of us?

For the most part, it seems to me – in my life anyway – that we do all that we can to promote safety and security. Whether it is the best car, that will withstand the most impact, a home security system, fences, moving to neighborhoods that are filled with people that are like “us,” so that we will be safe from “them,” and more, we are endless seekers of the opposite, it would seem.

Now I am not taking anyone to task for this, I am front and center in this activity!

However, I must ask myself, how can I put out into this deep? Without fear?

That’s the question that I asked myself when I encountered Bl. John Paul II’s reiteration of Jesus’ command, and that question was on my heart as I read today’s Gospel.

In a life filled with the acquisition of wealth, followed by the protection of it, along with all of our possessions, just how do we “put out into the deep?”

I have no clue, but this will be my prayer today… That I take more risks, focus more on Christ, and less on my own safety and security. The shoreline feels like a nice place to be, but the deep of the sea is where we are called. How else can we become fishers of men and women? Including, catching our own souls, in the nets that are meant to overflow. Yes – our nets for Christ are meant to overflow, not our own barns, for our own use.

Does anybody but me find this a challenge?

2 Responses

  1. This Gospel presents us with a great challenge. Richard Rohr writes about the “spirituality of subtraction” which seems to come out of this Gospel. Accumulation of “stuff” is probably one of the greatest spiritual challenges in our society. This topic has been on my heart for a while and I appreciate your confirmation.

  2. Very interesting message, I have been reflecting on it throughout the day. It is a challenge! Thanks for posting this Fran.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,311 other followers

