• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Deadlines

This morning, before I opened up my copy of Give us This Day* and read today’s Gospel,  I already felt the pressure of two writing deadlines looming before me. Would I be too late?

As ever, God makes God manifest in the Word and the Gospel really touched me, as prayers of “I need time” and “I need inspiration” and ultimately “I need completion of these pieces!” all roared in my weary head.

“And I tell you, ask and you will receive;
seek and you will find;
knock and the door will be opened to you.
For everyone who asks, receives;
and the one who seeks, finds;
and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

In the beginning portion of the Gospel we hear of a man who seeks to borrow bread at midnight and is turned away “because the door has already been locked and my children and I are already in bed.” The deadline has passed and the favor will not be granted.

As I prayed, I realized that my worry about the deadlines was the very impediment to the completion of my assignments. As a veteran of all wars of procrastination, I already know this, yet I persist with this behavior.

Amazingly enough, I finished praying and suddenly words flowed, gifts – sheer grace, from the heart of God. I was grateful to hit send on two emails and while, I actually do have a third assignment, I know that it will be finished soon.

It is never too late to ask God. For me the reminder was that asking also meant the openness to receive – I had been standing in my own way yet again.

What about you? Do you think it is ever “too late?” Do you ask? Do you receive?

I’m not even thinking about God refusing – the Gospel of Jesus Christ reminds me always of God’s love and generosity. And God’ beautiful lack of deadlines.

*Give Us This Day is a new publication from Liturgical Press. This monthly prayer book is published in a format that will remind many of The Magnificat, which is already a daily companion for so many of us. I am very torn because I know that I cannot afford to subscribe to both, but am receiving both at the moment. The is ultimately that there is a lot of room in the publication space for this kind of daily prayer and worship aids. I hope that if you are not readingeither of them, you will consider one or the other. They are essential, in my humble opinion to prayer. I will try towrite more about each one soon.


You may remember that in my post from Monday, I mention that my friend Paul Snatchko, works at Magnficat and has so often generously sent us sample copies that I leave in the gathering space of the church. We have also received sample copies of Give Us This Day this month, so try to get over and pick one up before they run out.

 

 

5 Responses

  1. Just what I needed, today. Thanks, Fran!

  2. A wonderful post, Fran. We often need that “prayerful time out” to refocus & re-energize. And when we think that God didn’t listen, we need to look a bit harder… His response might just look differently than we imagined!

  3. God’s beautiful lack of deadlines. How lovely, Fran. Thank you.

    We have been subscribing to Magnificat for years. I just subscribed to Give Us This Day 🙂

  4. May God answer all of your prayers, Fran — and abundantly bless all of your writings!

    P.S. Thanks for mentioning the ole gig!

  5. Fran, I just learned of The Magnificat while there at Immaculate Conception, and learned about Give Us This Day from your blog. I’d like to know what your opinion is on The Word Among Us.

Leave a Reply

