• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Friday October 7, 2011 – Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary


The Rosary. What a powerful thing the Rosary is for Catholics… our beads that we carry and love, even if we do not pray the Rosary very often.

Do you pray the Rosary?

I try to pray the Rosary daily, but I often fall out of my rhythm and months can go by before I find that rhythm again. This October I am making an effort to make sure that I pray the Rosary once a day.

So many people have commented to me that they don’t “get” Mary, or that the teachings about Our Lady are disagreeable to them. Or maybe that they think that praying the beads is an archaic practice and far too much of some kind of faux devotional piety for them. To each their own, but what a pity if you ask me. I do not mean that condescendingly, but really to say that I wish people were more open to this form of prayer.

It was the Rosary which brought me back into Church, our wise Mother Mary using what ever means she could in service of her Son!

Here at the Church of the Immaculate Conception, we will host a “Living Rosary” on October 18 at 7pm in the Church. This is being sponsored by the Our Lady Queen of Peace prayer group. I hope you will consider coming – I am going to make every effort to be there myself.

(I hope you come back on Saturday for an inspired video for our Saturday Song, Rosary inspired!)

4 Responses

  1. I’m praying the Rosary as well. First time I say the Luminous Mysteries. I find it a great way to meditate on the passages 🙂

  2. I pray the Rosary with the mysteries, then at other times I pray the Rosary as intercession for those on my list. The Rosary clears the mind for God to act. The Blessed Mother is a great gift to us.

  3. I try to pray the rosary daily. It calms my mind and feeds my soul.

  4. Thank you all for commenting! I just wrote a bit more about my personal journey with the Rosary on my personal blog, have a look here if you wish!

Leave a Reply

