• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

It makes me so sad to say that I did not muse enough for a Monday musing today… So I will pose a question that I would ask you to pray about and ponder, maybe leaving your thoughts in the comments.

How do you think of the Eucharist? Something you get or something you give?

6 Responses

  1. Oh, Fran, something I receive. Something I share. A living gift that takes up all who receive it, or wish they could receive it, into the Body of the One who came to teach us love and forgiveness… and who is with us always…

    Wishing you a Blessed and Holy Monday, Fran 🙂

  2. Something received. We consume the Eucharist. Then it consumes us. This is the promise of Christ in John 6.

  3. What Claire said, although I suppose that giving is also part of the Eucharist. We need to give up, or empty the self in order to receive and share in the One Body.

  4. Something that is shared within the whole Catholic, Christian community and received so that we all become part of the one body!

  5. For me, I think that the Eucharist is both something I get and something I give. I get to receive the body and blood of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ … how awesome is that. And I think I give a little more of myself over to Jesus each time I partake in this meal. I’d also like to think (I know I try) that I give a little more of myself to others as well.

  6. I am very late in getting back to reply to these great comments. Thank you all for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

    Well, we do come to receive the Body of Christ, that is so true. However, in the great tradition of Catholic both/and, we also come to give of our lives, to give ourselves. I think that we all know that, even if we did not express it in that way.

    What a gift we receive – and then what a gift we are compelled to share!

Leave a Reply

