• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing – The New Roman Missal

During Mass this weekend,I was struck with the realization that some of the words that I was saying and praying would soon be changed.

Now I have not been unaware of this! In fact, I have been immersed in the changes through my work here at Immaculate and as a liturgical minister at my home parish of St. Edward the Confessor. I have read tons of material about the changes, so I should not be surprised.

Yet, as I said, I found myself a bit nostalgic for words that have not yet quite departed and that are only changing.

So much has been made of the New Roman Missal – and yet, I have had a hard time getting worked up about it. Now I am just feeling a bit sad and wistful over what has been. This does not mean that I am closed about the change, just expressing some feelings about the change.

What about you? What do you think? Have you even thought about it? What is on your mind?

8 Responses

  1. I feel fairly upset about it. As Advent approaches, I realize the words I’ve said forever will no longer be mine. Someone I’m acquainted with, a religious instructor, said the new translation is more faithful, and less hippie-ish. Well, I know a lot of people, some of whom don’t have a drop of ‘hippie’ blood in them, who are unhappy with this.

    The best I can do is remain open-minded. The positive spin I’ve tried to put on it is that it will force me to pay renewed attention.

    • Hi Kelly! So glad to see you stop by; I think about you quite often and keep you in my prayers.

      Less hippie-ish? There is a poor choice of words!

      As for your focus to pay renewed attention – yes, that is a good place to start. I don’t say that to be Pollyanna, but rather to think that we will all have to be more aware.

      Language is a difficult thing, literal translations are very challenging. The New Roman Missal strives towards a more literal translation, so perhaps that is why the “less hippie-ish.” Such use of terms reminds me why the extremes are both always a challenge for me.

      Whatever happens on November 27 will be something new for us all, for good or ill. Let it be so and may the Spirit be present. And remember, God really does use all things for good – even when it is so hard to see that.

      Be well my friend and thank you for coming by and commenting.

  2. I heard a dear one yesterday expressing mixed feelings over the new words of the Creed. Finding the meaning more difficult to get to.

    In France, nothing is changing. We had those words all along, I think, but the tradition from Latin into French is simpler, since French comes from Latin 🙂

    If we think the changes are jarring, just think of what Vatican II brought to some of our parents. Quite a jolt!

    • Claire, yes – in French, or Spanish, the language of your other home, you won’t experience the changes in the same way.

      Thanks for bringing Vatican II up – that was quite a jolt and a jolt without all this advance preparation. I have recollections of it from my childhood – just the priest turning around was a huge shock!

  3. I will certainly miss the familiarity with the prayers, but I’m looking forward to how closely I’ll need to pay attention in order to become acquaintanted with the new translation!

    • Katie! How nice to see you here, thanks for coming by and talking! You bring up the point that Kelly did – paying attention. I do think that this is an invitation to us all to be more present.

      There are gifts in all things, I am hopeful about experiencing the gifts of change, although as I said, I too am wistful over words that are written on my heart.

  4. I am very excited for the change. What I’ve seen of the new translation is much more spiritual (doesn’t get more spiritual than “et cum spiritu tuo” = “and with your Spirit”) and more complex. More like “solid food instead of milk” as St. Paul would say. Plus I am an admitted Latin snob. I’ve taken to calling it the “Corrected Translation” after one of my blogging heroes, Fr. Z.

    I think we’ve done a great job getting ready for the new people’s parts, and Father has been eminently sensible in the way he has rolled it out for us. But I am *really* looking forward to the new blessings, Eucharistic prayers, and collects.

    • Hello Sean, thanks for commenting.

      Yes, I think that Father Jerry had done a great job in the way that Immaculate has approached the changes. The parish has been shepherded along in a way that will make it less of a shock come November 27.

      As for the use of the words “Corrected Translation,” I would have to respectfully disagree with you and with Fr. Z . (In full disclosure, I do not read his blog very often.) Corrected implies a negativity that makes me feel the same way that those with tremendous angst against this new translation does. But hey, that’s just me. Corrected or whatever, it is coming and that is that. I will miss what we once had; I look forward to what we will now have – it is that simple.

Leave a Reply

