• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing – Shush!!!

Today’s Gospel is a favorite of mine… In this particular story, the blind man, who Mark refers to as Bartimaeus, but Luke is not as clear. He is the blind man. He is us.

In any event, this man is blind and he calls out to Jesus for help. Loudly it would seem – “Jesus, Son of David, have pity on me!” Like any good citizen, those around him told him to shush! Be quiet, they said. I think that it is pretty easy to imagine this scene… it is for me anyway. The nice respectable people are there to see Jesus. They certainly don’t need someone drawing attention their way, especially when that person is a blind man, who at that point would have been viewed as a sinner of some sort.

As usual, Jesus turns the tables and who does he address? The blind man. The blind man need Jesus. And Jesus responds to him. This makes me think about all my own posturing so that I can show up as a good girl. Really I am blind and need Jesus. Yet it is hard to sit there, aware that you are “un-seeing” and just cry for help. That cry comes from a place of hope and faith – the man must believe that Jesus can do something.

I think about how little faith I have and constantly pester Jesus in my quiet prayers, but I think I am a little too prideful and appropriate to out myself as blind and needy. That’s what this Gospel reminds me of – it is only in blindness and need, it is only in humility, that we can freely encounter Christ as he is meant to be encountered… In total faith.

My cries come often, but more in the form of a clear request. Not Bartimaeus… “Jesus, Son of David, have pity on me!” Would I ever say, please pity me? It is antithetical to everything I know in all of my defendedness!

Will I ever learn how to do this? What do you think? Do you find it hard to cry out?

 

3 Responses

  1. Bartimaeus has been quite a mentor for me: he has taught me to cry out and asked for what I need. In fact, like him, I can ask Jesus to help me see, for I am too often in my own mind to really ‘see.’

    A really lovely post, Fran. Thank you!

  2. Wow! Recently I’ve been kicking myself for not speaking up and asking for accomodations for my hearing loss.Instead, I’ve avoided most noisy settings and even stayed home from Sunday Mass. Finally, I sat with Rev. Mary Ramerman and poured out my heart. She furiously took notes and has already begun to be of help. I’m sure there are lots of folks like me in the congregation who are in the same boat. Hopefully, we will all benefit and the church staff will have become more aware of our needs.

  3. I am always awed by this Gospel. Bartimaeus is quite a fellow, as reported by Mark. My favorite part? Bartimaeus comes up to Jesus, and Jesus asks him what he wants! A *blind man* comes up to Jesus, and Jesus asks him what he wants! I think it is because vision is costly. Jesus is saying, “Do you know what you are asking for? What it will truly cost you?”

    And, if you think about it, for Bartimaeus, the cost of vision is *everything*! He can no longer live the life he has lived since he was born. He cannot sit by the road and beg anymore. His whole life is changed by his healing encounter with Christ.

    Isn’t that always true? Love Bartimaeus.

Leave a Reply

