• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Saturday Song – And A Little More

Bono Meets Blessed Pope John Paul II in 2000

Today’s Saturday Song is Gloria from U2…

I was searching around for something to post today and just could not find anything that was… just right. I’m not quite sure how I got myself to the U2 pages on You Tube, but I did. Trust me – I hesitated, but kept coming back to this song.

For many people – and I am sorry if I offend anyone – rock music might seem the last thing to post on a church blog. However, I would have to say that this song in particular holds a place in my own faith. (On a side note, I got a book for Christmas that I have yet to read, called Rock-a My Soul by David Nantais. Here is a review, found on the Rock and Theology blog.)

Many years ago, when I was away from church, I happened to hear that the members of U2 were Catholic. (At the time, 3 of them were, 1 was not.) This must have been about 1982 or so, I was 25 or 26. About the last thing on my mind was returning to church.

Someone told me that U2 were Catholic and I could not believe it. At the time, I did not know too many Catholics my age and I thought that the church was archaic. This news about U2 seemed a bit weird to me, I had a hard time reconciling the “hip” U2 as some church going guys.

This song made a big impression on me as a rock song and then I learned the lyrics and I was… well, I was wowed. I liked the line about standing by the door and being let in and I liked the Latin.

It would be many years before I came back to church, but now I think of how God was tapping me on the shoulder, using any means necessary. God does that for all of us.

Think about that when you hear Sunday’s first reading. God is always calling – we just don’t always know who it is. And now I think about the line of the song that says, “But only in you I’m complete…”

I try to sing this song
I…I try to stand up
But I can’t find my feet
I try, I try to speak up
But only in you I’m complete

Gloria…in te domine
Gloria…exultate
Gloria…Gloria
Oh Lord, loosen my lips

I try to sing this song
I…I try to get in
But I can’t find the door
The door is open
You’re standing there
You let me in

Gloria…in te domine
Gloria…exultate
Oh Lord, if I had anything
Anything at all
I’d give it to you
I’d give it to you

Gloria…Gloria…

One Response

  1. One of the most beautiful preaching moments I have ever heard came from the hands of a drummer, Don, who had in fact played with U2.

    It was in the late 1990s. Don had done Cursillo… Some young people from church who had a band decided to do a fund-raising in our church itself one Friday night.

    To help them, Don came with two guitarist friends and gave us a jam session. Incredible! But more than this, it was as if Don, who was dying of cancer by then, or possibly AIDS because of drug-addiction, gave a talk (rollo) on love with his drums. He was breath-taking. He died shortly afterwards.

    So rock-n-roll is not outside of spirituality šŸ™‚

    Thank you for introducing me to this song.

Leave a Reply

