• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Saturday Song – Late and filled with news and a photo!

Sorry I am late… Mea culpa!

So many things going on right now… Getting ready for our Tuesday night presentation that I am offering, “Too Busy for Lent?” Am I the right one to do this? I guess so, being busy and all! I love Lent so much, I would not be too busy for it, but I hope to introduce you to or remind you of some simple ways to connect with God during this season.

Father Jerry sent me a photo of newly elevated Cardinal Timothy Dolan! How exciting for him to be present at the consistatory for new cardinals. Photo is here…

Another piece of exciting news is that the Times Union has asked me to blog for them at the TU blogs website. My first post from my personal blog, There Will Be Bread, will go up there live on Tuesday. What an honor to be the only Catholic blogger on the TU site. It is my personal blog and I consider it the intersection of faith and life. All are welcome, so please stop by from time to time.  And please pray for me as I undertake this much more public role as a blogger and Catholic writer. Thank you!

All this news has me singing this hymn over and over, which is aptly titled, How Can I Keep From Singing? I had this played at the prelude to my wedding, but since it was the prelude, I was hidden away and did not hear it. It embodied then, as now, how Mark and I felt about getting married. We sing this frequently at St. Edward’s, but I have not heard it here at Immaculate. Maybe I have just missed it. I have also heard it sung at funerals and some people react with shock to that, but honestly, I would not rule it out at my own! Not that I am in a rush for that one to happen!

Have a great weekend!

One Response

  1. Congratulations on your new adventure in blogging, Fran! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

