• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

If you read or hear today’s readings, the Gospel from Luke is very clear. The links are there, but allow me to present the words here as well.

Jesus said to his disciples:
“Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

“Stop judging and you will not be judged.
Stop condemning and you will not be condemned.
Forgive and you will be forgiven.
Give and gifts will be given to you;
a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing,
will be poured into your lap.
For the measure with which you measure
will in return be measured out to you.”

Listening to so much of the contemporary rhetoric, you would never know that Jesus pointed us towards non-judgment. That struck me, first of all because I have a pretty judgmental streak. Seriously –  just ask anyone who lives with me. My husband and step-daughter would be rich sources of just how judgmental I can be.

What really hit me this morning as I read and prayed were these words – “stop condemning.”

After a weekend away from the internet, by and large (OK, I did post a photo from my phone, but that was about it!) I have to say I was grateful for the respite from all the arguing in the social media sphere. I don’t know about you, but I am sick, sick, sick to death of hearing about who is a good Catholic, who is a bad Catholic, who is cooperating with evil – as if most of us can really express appropriate Catholic moral theology, who is righteous, who is not righteous, who deserves Eucharist (by the way, the answer to that would be no one) and who does not and on and on and on. I want to yell – shaddup!

There you see – I am judging and condemning now, aren’t I? Yes, truth be told, yes I am.

In any case, as I re-read the Gospel, I find that Jesus’ words, are as always, well timed and pointed at every one of us. Jesus intones us to give. The only piece of real estate that I control here is my own heart . God calls me to give. GIVE. If all that I can give is judgement and condemnation, then I better step away from the table.

So maybe I better step away from the table?

Or not.  It through and with each other that God brings us to redemption. As Catholics, it is a group deal – not individual salvation. So therefore I better just shaddup and get on with the work of Christ, the work of giving. This is all easier said than done.

Like watching TV with the remote in hand or surfing the internet wirelessly, my judgment and condemnation can be done from the comfort of my chair. You can say “That was easy!” –  just like in the commercial. Except – well, it is not easy to do the right thing if you ask me. Even when I want to do the right thing, I so often choose poorly.

Actual giving has to do with how we are in the world – the real world. It has to do with the virtual world as well, in the sense that how we are on the internet should be a mirror of how we are in the world.

May this Lent give us all the grace needed to be givers in the world and not judges.

 

5 Responses

  1. Fran, as a Catholic convert I early on realized what you have noted so well here: “As Catholics, it is a group deal – not individual salvation.” Prior to that I had been led to believe that we were all on our own, that is, it was between the individual and God and not between the community of faith and God. As I was attending Mass prior to my conversion, I had this thought of the vertical beam of the cross reaching from God to me but the horizontal beam was to indicate the connection between each of us and the community and that we all approach God as one body. That was an “aha” moment for me and I treasure that concept of communal salvation as well as our personal relationship with our amazing Lord Jesus.

    Thank you for this post to start off the week.

  2. Oh, Franek! Shaddup! and get to work….but be non judgmental to those who will sit across your desk! The Pasture

  3. Fran,

    Loved this post. So simple and so true. Am praying to be more judgment free. A lifetime’s work, I fear.

    Paul

  4. Amen, Fran!

Leave a Reply

