• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Catholicism – It’s your story!

Have you heard about the new series and book by Father Robert Barron and Word on Fire ministries? It is called Catholicism and I can’t say enough about this effort.

In the fall, I was fortunate enough to be invited to write a review of the book, so I received an advance copy. I did post something about that on the blog, which you can find here, or you can skip directly to my review at Patheos, here.

Last week we began, in conjunction with St. Edward the Confessor, showing all 10 episodes of the series. On Monday’s at 7pm, St. Edward’s hosts the presentation. We offer our portion on Thursday nights at 7pm.

This Thursday Deacon Mike Melanson will facilitate the presentation. Please join us – all are welcome! And you won’t regret it, that I can promise you. This series is really amazing and worth your time. It’s your story, please come learn it and live it with us.

3 Responses

  1. They are showing 4 of the segments on WNED (WNY/Toronto PBS) this month. Saw one tonight. Whole series and/or book can be gotten for pledging.

  2. I look forward to looking at the book and videos, Fran.
    It feels to me right now like a certain segment of the Catholic Church is going on a media blitz… I feel curious about it.

    • Make no mistake Claire, this series is done in the style of apologetics in many ways. That said, I would be lying if I did not tell you that I have loved the episodes that I have seen. I am facilitating one of the evenings soon.

Leave a Reply

