• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Saturday Song

We have had 6 funerals in 6 days here at the Church of the Immaculate Conception; it is a sad record I’m afraid. March it would appear, is a month when many people pass from this world into the next; I’m not sure why that is. The promise of Spring is ahead, but when God calls us home, God calls us home.

This song was selected for Debbie Cianfarani’s funeral in January. It is a favorite song of mine, but it is chosen so infrequently, that I was not sure what song it was when I looked at the funeral preparation sheet. It hit me hard when we sang it that day and it has not left my heart since. Although I have suggested it at each subsequent funeral preparation gathering, no one else has elected to include this song. That’s OK; we have to choose what makes sense liturgically and for our grieving hearts, but the memory of this song has carried me through all the intensive funeral planning meetings that I have had to hold this week.

This part of my job, something I do from time to time while Father Jerry is here, is now something that I am doing a lot more of in his absence. I call it the sad privilege, because it is just that. To walk with those who weep and mourn, to try to comfort them in their time of need is a part of my job that I love deeply.

In any event, I knew that this had to be the Saturday Song this week. The great promise of our faith – we will rise again! Thanks be to God.

Please pray for all who grieve and mourn, all who have lost beloved family members and friends. (Please note that this video is a little shaky, but the singing is very beautiful.)

2 Responses

  1. Thank you, Fran.

  2. Walking with those who mourn and weep…
    Godde bless you, Fran.

Leave a Reply

