• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Saturday Song

Each Lent I look forward to hearing and singing (loudly at that) this song… Jerusalem My Destiny by a favorite liturgical composer of mine, Rory Cooney. Honestly, I do not recall this song from Lents gone by, but I was introduced to it during Lent of 2007. At that time I was still just an every-other-weekend visitor to my home parish of St. Edward the Confessor.  Our wedding and soon-to-follow immersion into the life of the parish were my destiny at that time, too! (At the time, I was preparing to relocate and marry Mark, who lived here already and was here, more or less, every other weekend.)

In any case, I heard the song and I was so taken by it. It’s rousing sound propels us forward into our own journey with Christ to Jerusalem, to suffering, death and the Cross. It also is a reminder of our resurrection to follow. Anything that makes me feel joyful about this journey is a gift indeed. Lyrics and video to follow.

Here are the lyrics:

Refrain:
I have fixed my eyes on your hills,
Jerusalem, my Destiny!
Though I cannot see the end for me,
I cannot turn away.
We have set our hearts for the way;
this journey is our destiny.
Let no one walk alone.
The journey makes us one.

Other spirits, lesser gods,
have courted me with lies.
Here among you I have found
a truth that bids me rise. (Refrain)

See, I leave the past behind;
a new land calls to me.
Here among you now I find
a glimpse of what might be. (Refrain)

In my thirst, you let me drink
the waters of your life,
Here among you I have met,
the Savior, Jesus Christ. (Refrain)

All the worlds I have not seen
you open to my view.
Here among you I have found
a vision bright and new. (Refrain)

To the tombs I went to mourn
the hope I thought was gone,
Here among you I awoke
to unexpected dawn. (Refrain)

Composer: Rory Cooney (1990)

Here is the video.

3 Responses

  1. Fran, we sang this as we approached Jerusalem on a pilgrimage a few years ago. I cannot hear this song without tears. I am so grateful that “the journey makes us one”.

  2. Hi Fran–thank you so much! We were in Florida several years ago all during Lent and they sang this song every Sunday at the Church we attended and I loved it. It’s so appropriate for Lent, but I haven’t heard it since until now, so thank you for helping me find it and for all the things you do to keep us focused on our faith.

  3. Thank you Lynda and Anne. I am saddened in some ways to realize that this song is not part of Lent at my home parish this year. I say in some ways because I do think that a good music ministry does revise and change itself over the years. However, I do love this song and am singing on my own at the moment!

    Anne, maybe we can ask about having it included at IC next Lent?

    Thank you both for your faithful readership of the blog – Lynda from afar and Anne from here! God bless you and a big thank you to all who read these pages. Many prayers for all.

Leave a Reply

