• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Inconvenience and the Gospel… A link to Random Acts of Momness by Ginny Kubitz Moyer

The words stopped me in my tracks this morning.  They made me think about families in church – something that I treasure. Often we only hear the crying children, or experience kids in church as an inconvenience. We remember how we were never allowed to talk, read, eat cheerios or go to the bathroom and we grew up just fine. I’m not always so sure about that… Nothing personal – I’m referring to myself here.

This is a story of motherhood, families, church as community and the huge pain that we all are to one another… if that is how we choose to see it. Even when they are our own kids! See what Ginny has to say:

It’s Sunday morning, and we’re at Mass.  My little boys turn the pages of their picture books, surprisingly well-behaved.  As the priest gets up to read the Gospel, the thought of his homily fills me with pleasant anticipation.  Father Xavier possesses equal parts knowledge and wisdom and honesty in the face of…

Please go to my friend Ginny Kubitz Moyer‘s blog at Random Acts of Momness, and read the rest of  her post entitled, An Inconvenient Gospel. She also writes for Catholic Mom, Busted Halo, and is the author of  the book, Mary and Me.

2 Responses

  1. I visited “Momness” – wonderful!

  2. As a convert to the Catholic expression of the Christian faith, I really enjoy hearing the children in church as they are not part of worship in many denominations. When I hear them I think that it must have been like that when Jesus taught on the hillside with children in the crowd. It is a beautiful sound.

Leave a Reply

