• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

The Easter season will soon come to an end. Easter, like Christmas, does not come to an end the day of the holiday. With Christmas, Ordinary time comes more quickly, but with Easter, we do have 50 days before Ordinary time returns.

On Thursday we will celebrate the Feast of the Ascension. In many dioceses, Ascension is moved to the following Sunday, but we do note the particular day here. The days between Ascension and Pentecost are very powerful. Jesus has ascended and we await the coming of the Holy Spirit, who Jesus promises will give us wisdom.

As we are about to enter this important time of prayer, maybe we can all reflect on what we might pray for. At the same time, at least for me, I am going to pray for openness to whatever the Holy Spirit offers. Every year, I make an Ascension to Pentecost novena. Instead of being specific about what I want the Holy Spirit to bring, maybe this year I will simply pray for the gift of an open mind and heart.

Whatever you pray for, please know that I pray with you – and I thank you for praying with me. That is why we are all together here in community. Pentecost – not to get to far ahead of ourselves – does celebrate the unity that we know and find in our common union with Christ Jesus, and with one another.

One Response

  1. I am so in need of the Holy Spirit! I thank you for reminding me of this important time and I will certainly join you in prayer during this time. I agree with you: I will pray also for the gift of an open mind and heart.
    Thank you so much, Fran!

Leave a Reply

