• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Saturday Song

For Pentecost I selected “Come Lord Jesus,” by David Haas. The video is shaky, but the singing is nice. This psalm is often used at Easter and is appropriate for Pentecost as well. And with Pentecost, our Easter season has ended after 50 days.

In 1991 I heard a Pentecost homily that I have never forgotten. It was my first Pentecost after being away from church for 18 years. At that time I believed that I had a vocational call to life as vowed woman religious. (We see that my vocation has worked out differently!) I was supposed to go on a trip that would bring me to Spain with a group of men and women discerning their vocations. My mother became very ill and I had to cancel the trip, I was kind of devastated… both that she was ill and that I could not go.

The homilist was a visiting priest, I cannot tell you his name, but he said this, emblazoned up on my heart forever -“Easter makes me unafraid to die, Pentecost makes me unafraid to live!”

2 Responses

  1. ”Easter makes me unafraid to die, Pentecost makes me unafraid to live!”
    Thank you, Fran. These words will accompany me in the years to come.

  2. Fran, thank you for the thought-provoking quote of the visiting homilist. It is amazing how your change of plans many years ago means that you are able to share this message with countless others.

Leave a Reply

