• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing – Memorial Day edition

Admittedly, I am late to this today. I usually have something ready, but with the holiday weekend and a big writing project going on, I missed my mark. As I thought about what to post, prayed and pondered – nothing came.

Then it hit me, the recently published words of +Bishop Joseph Estabrook, a native son of Albany and auxiliary bishop for the Archdiocese of Military Services would be perfect. Bishop Estabrook did not die in war, but he did die in service to our country and to our God.  Bishop Estabrook was a shepherd to all those we honor on this day.

May Bishop Estabrook rest in the peace of the Lord who he served with such great devotion and love. His memory will ever be a blessing.

A dying bishop ponders life

BY BISHOP JOSEPH ESTABROOK(Editor’s note: The late Bishop Estabrook, who had been ordained a priest for the Albany Diocese in 1969, was a U.S. Navy chaplain and became auxiliary bishop for the Archdiocese for the Military Services. He died of pancreatic cancer in February after writing the following reflection, which appeared in the spring 2012 issue of Salute, the military archdiocese’s magazine. It has been reprinted with permission.)A little over a year ago, while in the middle of a very active West Coast confirmation schedule, I fell ill and was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer. My prognosis was less than a year.I asked Archbishop [Timothy] Broglio [of the Archdiocese for the Military Services] to keep the matter [in] somewhat a close hold until I could address it sensitively in consideration of my mother’s very fragile health situation, and he graciously agreed.I began treatment at MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas, receiving chemotherapy every two to three weeks. Thankfully, I was able to stay with my brother, Tim, and his wife, Gisele, who live in Houston.As you may know, pancreatic cancer cannot be cured and is usually a very stealthy and aggressive adversary. In my case, however, except for the unavoidable extreme fatigue, there were very few side effects. This allowed me to continue some pastoral work when… (continue reading at The Evangelist)
2 Responses

  1. Very moving.Thanks Fran.
    Blessings

  2. There are many powerful lines in this but the one that has spoken to me today is “Faith and fear can’t live in the same space”. Thank you for sharing this article; I know I will refer to it many more times.

Leave a Reply

