• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Monday Musing

Yesterday we heard all about not taking too much for the journey. Today we hear about how Jesus separating families!

Now we know that as Roman Catholics we are not to simply understand Scripture literally, but what are we to think?(See Dogmatic Constitution On Divine Revelation, DEI VERBUM, chapter III, item 12, paragraph 2.)

Are we to let go of every person and thing in our life?

In a sense, yes. And then – no.

I am no expert, far from it, but I think that God in God’s persistent and ardent pursuit of us, is trying to get our attention. If that means losing and letting go of every person and everything, God will ask that of us. That makes me think of Job, of course. This is all very hard to understand, but we are called to not understand alone, which is in our head – but we are called to live this way.

Today I begin the week thinking about what God truly asks of me… and what seems like my complete inability to comply with the least of it.

What about you? What have you heard, thought or believed about this?

*Extra – here is a good reflection about Sodom and Gomorrah, which we also hear about today, from Give Us This Day, via PrayTell blog.

3 Responses

  1. Fran, detachment is such a challenge but there is such freedom when we are able to embrace it. I’m learning bit by bit but I’m a slow learner. I needed this reminder today as I leave for my retreat. Thank you.

  2. Fran, you start our week with a significant challenge–to think soberly about what Jesus is saying in this text. Is He really telling us to abandon our families? And I’m with you. It’s very hard to understand.

    In my personal devotions I’ve been wrestling with the prodigal son story for the past week or so, where we see an impetuous child do what Jesus talks about–leave his family behind–but not in a healthy way. So it seems there’s a right and wrong way to let go of people we love, which only complicates this issue even further.

    But the parable has also got me thinking a lot about the concept of “household.” On many levels it’s a microcosm of the world we live in, where struggles for power, identity, wealth, and status play out in very subtle and real fashions. And it may be when Jesus calls us to let go of family, He’s telling us to surrender the parts of us that create conflict, as well as those that are drawn to it and consequently wounded by it.

    Life is messy. Families are messy. The world is messy. (That’s certainly true in the Sodom and Gomorrah story.) Yet God finds us in our mess and will lift us out of it much like we see happen to Lot and Job and the prodigal son–provided we’re willing to let go the mess. And if we insist on clinging to our conflicts, we might do well to heed Jesus’s warning: Remember Lot’s wife.

    Thank you for stirring us to reflect on this tough teaching. It opens an abundance of blessings if we do the hard work of hearing what Jesus says!

    Peace,
    Tim

  3. I have no answer, Fran. But I like the question. I like the idea of sitting with Godde and waiting to see what I am asked… I must not be a very good listener, unfortunately 🙂

Leave a Reply

