• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,310 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

Observing and being

observation_point_highway_sign_round_sticker-r5f5d799776b94ceba136b2a68300941f_v9waf_8byvr_512Seeing, noticing, today – observing and being.

Last night my husband and I went out for ice cream; he decided to stop at CVS on the way home. As we left the store I looked to the western sky and saw layers, streamers actually, of bright pink, along with hints faded mauve, rich blue fading into darkness. It was gorgeous, so I did what was most natural to me… I reached for my iPhone and realized that I did not have it.

There I was left to do what truly was natural. I watched the sky for a moment, taking a photo with my eyes, stored in my heart and mind. My gratitude was great for this visual gift, even if I could not preserve it for eternity via Instagram.

This morning, the dog needed to go out and it was still pretty early. I’m not even sure what time it was. 6-ish? We simply walked around the yard and when I looked to the east what did I see but a red sky to beat the band. The pink and rose colored hues were not like anything I had seen around here. I moved forward on the lawn, towards the street, to get a better view east. What saw between two trees blew my mind. In between two trees, the sky glowed pink in a fashion unknown to me. I simply stood there, thanking God and taking it all in again.

Seconds later, I walked inside, grabbed my phone and returned to the front yard.

What the what?

Nothing. I mean – nothing. Gray, cloudy sky with not even a hint of pink. I walked to the street, looking between the two trees. Moments ago remarkable pink sky glowed there. Now – gray. Not even a hint of pink. Nothing.

It was only a matter of maybe two or three minutes.

My observation is this – I am grateful that I stood to observe the sky instead of running in to get the phone first.

In this week in which I am focused on seeing and noticing, I have come to understand that I must also observe.

What will you observe today?

One Response

  1. I believe that such scenes are granted to us for a special purpose – for an instantaneous, momentary identification with creation maybe, an instant when we are uplifted!.

    The first time I saw it I was reminded of Salvador Dali’s Last supper. There is much more but after this view it seemed to me he was showing that we are, even now, part of God’s creation some of which we have not damaged .

    R P Coelho

Leave a Reply

