• Church of the Immaculate Conception

    1-518-399-9168
    Office Hours Mon-Fri 9am-4pm, lunch 1-2
    Mass Mon-Wed 9am, Thur-Fri 7am,
    Saturday 5pm (confessions at 4pm)
    Sunday 8am and 11am
  • Our Immaculate Conception Window

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,309 other followers

  • My Catholic Social Media Motto from Blessed John XXIII

    "In necessary things, unity; in doubtful things, freedom; in all things, charity" - St. Augustine, as quoted by Blessed John XXIII in his first enclyclical, Ad Petri Cathedram ( To the Chair of Peter)
  • Live Your Faith – Get Engaged, Get Active, Get Involved

    Visit the New York State Catholic Conference, and the USCCB Conscience page for more information on political and social issues.
  • My other blogs…

    Personal reflections on faith and life at There Will Be Bread.

    And the blog from my home parish, The Parish Blog of St. Edward the Confessor.

“Well, that’s what this parish is all about, you know.” A guest post, by Christine Goss

This reflection and video were submitted by our Director of Youth Ministry, Christine Goss. Read on and be moved.

“Well, that’s what this parish is all about, you know.”

I imagine as you read the title of this post, each person has a different thought about what I might be writing about. After all, if I surveyed 100 parishioners at Immaculate Conception, I would likely get dozens and dozens of answers to the question, “What is this parish all about?” Answers that are formed through an individual’s lens taking into account their personal experiences, familial needs, ministry involvements and prioritizations. Regardless of our point-of-view, as people of Christ, interconnected in community through this beautiful parish, I hope we could all ultimately agree that at our core this parish is all about being of service to the people of God.

“Well, that’s what this parish is all about, you know.”

Someone I respect very much said those words to me last weekend and it touched me in a profound way, in an unexpected way, in a way that motivated me to write this in the midst of the craziness of my everyday life. You see, I have always believed that our parish was all about serving. Serving “others”, that is. I realized in that one instance that in being Church we are called to serve “each other” – not just “children”, the “poor”, the “unchurched”, the “sick”, the “marginalized.” Focusing on service to “others” was the easy part. For me, the more challenging part, was understanding that I too, could be served, by our Parish.

“Well, that’s what this parish is all about, you know.”

The past several months have been very challenging for me and although I have never been good at asking for help, offers of help have poured into my life from countless members of our Parish Family. Meals, rides, prayers have been sent to my family without me asking and often times even after I had said, “No, really, we’re fine.” There is no way to express the overwhelming sense of love that you feel when opening the door to an unexpected home-cooked meal and a smile, delivered from someone who you would not even know but for this Parish.

I think that I forgot, and maybe many of you have as well, that while being called TO serve, as a member of this community, I (and each of us) need to remember that we are also allowed to BE served by the generosity and giftedness that abounds in this Parish Family.

So, thank you for the reminder that I am worthy. Thank you for
Your support
Your prayers
Your Love and Kindness
Your home-cooked meals
Your heart warming hugs
Your words of encouragement
Your understanding if I dropped the ball

Thank you for being Christ to me. After all “that’s what this parish is all about, you know.”

2 Responses

  1. Beautifully done!

  2. Thanks for that Christine. Well-said.
    Kath

Leave a Reply

